Bento #17 ~ Pork Bun…Yum!

18 09 2008
Hard-boiled eggs, grape tomatoes, edamame

Bottom: Baby carrots, BBQ Pork Bun, Grape tomatoes, Fish container of dumpling sauce Top: Hard-boiled eggs, grape tomatoes, edamame

On my mooncake run to the Asian market, I also picked up a couple of packs of dumplings. The BBQ pork looked especially good. I’ve honestly never had dumplings like this before…with the thick, steamed bread dough…usually I have the gyoza-style with the thin wrapper. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it was heavenly! The dough was mildly sweet which complimented the pork very well. I didn’t even use the sauce I brought to go with it. (Actually, it’s been pointed out that my semantics are wrong….this is a bun, not a dumpling. Oops! Whatever it is, it’s yummy! ;))

Also in this bento, but not pictured, is one of my mooncakes and another market find, Fruity Jelly in mango. Both, unfortunately, were a bit of a dissapointment. The mooncake was the mixed nut variety (pictured in the previous post) and wasn’t bad. But it definitely had some kind of almond essence/paste/oil in it and, while I like almonds themselves, I don’t like the extract. It wasn’t too strong, but it was still there enough to diminish my enjoyment of it somewhat. The Fruity Jelly looked delish, but when I opened it, I was greeted with a very pungent smell of fermentation. I don’t know if they’re supposed to smell that way or if I just managed to get a bad one (despite what the bag said, there was no expiration date on the jelly). Needless to say, I didn’t touch it. I’m hoping the whole bag isn’t that way because I was really looking forward to these. They look yummy. (UPDATE: I tried another one when I got home and it was fine. I guess there was just a bad one in the bunch.)

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 09 2008
Ms.___2 be!

That looks more like pork buns.

18 09 2008
RavensBentos

You’re right….it is a bun, not a dumpling. My bad…I have a tendency to call all types of dim sum “dumplings”.

Leave a Reply

