Bento #16 ~ All A’Bloom (and More Mooncakes!)

17 09 2008

Since my last couple of bentos were paticularly uninspired, I decided to go a bit fancier with this one. I’m starting to really like the one-tier boxes better because there is so much more room to work with and I can fit things under the lid better.

Jasmine rice with grape tomato, baby corn, and nori flower, baby carrots, hard-boiled eggs on wakame (seaweed salad). Out of the box are a mooncake and mini egg pudding

Jasmine rice with grape tomato, baby corn, and nori flower, baby carrots, hard-boiled eggs on wakame (seaweed salad). Out of the box are a mooncake and mini egg pudding

 

Unfortunately, the mooncake pictured was the last of my lotus seed mooncakes. 😦 So I went back to the store today and they had all their mooncake sets marked down. Yay! Unfortunately, the only set they had that was solely lotus seed was the most expensive at 4 for $22 (after the discount). I bypassed it in favor of a 4-pack assortment for $11…one of which was lotus seed. These were the larger, more ornate kind that I had been looking for before. They also had some nice larger assortments of smaller cakes that I might go back and get when/if they do more markdowns.
 

I love the boxes these come in. They are so pretty! I might use them as little gift boxes.

I love the boxes these come in. They are so pretty! I might use them as little gift boxes.

A closeup of the mixed nut mooncake

A closeup of the mixed nut mooncake

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

