Not a Bento, but OMG—YUM!!

11 09 2008

I stopped by the Oriental market today, hoping to pick up a moon cake or two for the upcoming Moon Festival, but alas, I guess Korean-owned markets don’t carry them, because there was not a one to be found. 😦 I did, however, pick up a few other yummy items…panko, frozen mixed seafood, shrimp and edamame gyoza, and some “traditional Korean cookies” (which, after a bit of research, I have found are yakgwa).

The panko was for making chicken katsu…which I jumped right in and made for dinner this evening. OMG…it was sooo good!! The panko just makes it…it gives it such a different texture than regular bread crumbs. I normally do not like making anything fried, but this was super-yummy. The recipe I used was from JustBento (even though the link in my “Bento Things to Try” is for the recipe at CookingCute…I might try that one next time) because it was simpler. I figured I’d try it first, then add more seasonings if I felt like it. I also whipped up some simple tonkatsu sauce with ketchup and worchestershire sauce. I’m not sure if I got it right because it’s been ages since I’ve had real tonkatsu sauce…but it was good.


Chicken katsu, wakame (seaweed salad), tonkatsu sauce
(I restrained myself and didn’t eat all four pieces…I just had two and put the other two in my bento for tomorrow)
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

